Capturing real smiles, real moments, and real memories

A note from one of my clients whose husband was battling cancer during the time of our photo shoot

I received this email from a client the other day and it brought tears to my eyes. I was referred to her through a friend and when we did their pictures it was immediately before her husband was to have a transplant. The day we went to do them it started raining – so knowing we didn’t have time to reschedule I wrapped my camera in my coat and we did the shoot in the rain. They were all such troopers and the pictures turned out beautiful. I wanted to share her email with all of you because I hope that you can see how important family pictures can be to someone fighting a serious illness and if you ever have a friend in this situation I hope that you will send them my way. It’s not that they need pictures because they aren’t going to win the fight, but more or less to empower them through the battle and so that they will be able to look back at the pictures years later to remember this chapter in their lives that will forever change them.

Catherine,

I wanted to give you a (late) heads up that I referred a friend to you.  She was just diagnosed in January with cancer, and her husband has been battling cancer for the past couple years now.  When I spoke with her last week I told her to get a family picture and I strongly suggested she call you.  Catherine you were the best during a very difficult time when we rushed to get our pictures in before Steve’s transplant.   And I want you to know how very important those pictures were and are to us.  I told my friend how the family picture and the ones of the kids, traveled to and from the hospital with us for months and beautifully embodied to Steve every time he looked at them why he was going through this.  People still talk about how great that family picture was 2 years later because we sent it out as our holiday card.  I hope she calls you or has called you already.  If she does contact you, the photo shoot will be as magical, meaningful and beautiful as it was for our family in your hands.  Even through the rain drops we had, you captured a beauty, a peace, and a love I truly know we could have only gotten from you and for that thank you, thank you, thank you.  You are a true artist.

You are the best and many blessing to you and your family!

Thanks and hugs,

Laura

Leave a Reply

