Capturing real smiles, real moments, and real memories

Happy Birthday Boppa!


Kobe's treehouse - they even built the ladder!

My dad happens to be a Valentine’s baby so today we celebrated his birthday with lunch at Valentino’s and then just spending the day hanging out with Nana and Boppa at their house.  For his birthday this year we got him tickets to a woodworkers convention in Kansas City and a hotel room there.  For those of you who don’t know my dad is an incredible woodworker – he was even featured in a woodworking magazine recently for some of his ideas.  He has built everything from play cars and toys for the kids up to a playhouse and a tree fort.  Here are just a few of the things that he’s built.

My dad built this laundry chute and quilt rack for my mom in their room to match their existing furniture.

My dad built this toy firehouse for Kobe.  He modeled it after one that we used to drive by every morning.

This is a firehouse that was built for Kobe. He modeled it after one that we used to drive by every morning that Kobe loved to see.

My dad made this bed for my brother when he was a baby. The front of the bed is a dresser and the lights light up as night lights. My brother used it nearly 30 years ago, passed it on to Kobe, and now Jax uses it.

My dad has an awesome workshop that takes up about half of their basement.  It is one of my favorite places to be – and anytime I am having a rough day/week it’s the first place I want to run to.

I have learned so much from my dad – he is the one who has taught me about hard work, honesty, Faith, the value of friendship and family and the beauty of living simply.  I could never put a price on the lessons I have learned in this work shop and the memories that were created there.  I have an incredible amount of respect for my dad and the kind of life he lives and the person that he is.  I strive to be more and more like him every day and I hope that someday I grow up to be just like him. 🙂  I love you dad and I hope that you had a wonderful birthday and that you and mom have a great time this weekend.

One response

  1. Mom

    I’ve GOT to learn to quit reading your blog at work!! Here I sit with tears rolling down my face. What a wonderful daughter you are and what a beautiful tribute to your dad!! Love, Mom

    February 15, 2010 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

