Capturing real smiles, real moments, and real memories

July 4th weekend extravaganza

 

Ok I realize that this post is LOOOOONG overdue – but bare with me – it is a crazy time of year (I will be saying this until January) and I have been a little behind on our personal updates!

We had an absolutely amazing 4th of July this year.  It is definitely the most patriotic I have ever felt and I think this is mainly due to my new current state of appreciating everything more and being so grateful for what we have (the credit for my new state of mind… Water’s Edge – which I will blog about at a later time).  Friday night we went to our friends parents house (another thing I love about holidays – we always end up at the parents of our friends – which being the over the top family person that I am – I absolutely love getting to know our friends families) for an incredible fireworks show.  The kids had a blast (haha – no pun intended) and after the show we stayed around and hung out and told stories until waaaaaay past our little ones bedtimes.  It was such a great time and we were so thankful to the Velinsky family for having us out – we have assured them that invite or no invite – we will be crashing the party every year from here on out.

Saturday we did the annual Bellbrook parade and cook out.  The kids were adorable and the little wagons and everything they decorated was too cute.  I love living in a neighborhood that is so family oriented and where we have made so many great friends, and where we get to create so many memories for our kids.

Matt taking the kids on the parade

Matt taking the kids on the parade

 

Madison

Madison

Thank you Mandy for putting it all together this year!!

Thank you Mandy for putting it all together this year!!

 

Truitt's awesome ride

Truitt's awesome ride

 

aren't they too cute?!

aren't they too cute?!

These guys cracked me up - there is a reason 4 year olds don't have a license! :)

These guys cracked me up - there is a reason 4 year olds don't have a license! 🙂

DSC_6399

DSC_6400

 We spent the afternoon hanging out and then headed to Nana and Boppas, and then back to our house for the little fireworks show with our neighbors.  

 

Run Todd!

Run Todd!

 

Miss Leland and her sparkler

Miss Leland and her sparkler

 

  Maddie with her panda firework - this was my favorite when I was little so of course I buy it for her every year.

Maddie with her panda firework - this was my favorite when I was little so of course I buy it for her every year.

After getting the kids to bed Matt and I stayed out and played, what is now, our new favorite lawn game – no idea on the name – just know that it requires a couple of cans, couple of poles, and a frisbee.  It was an absolute blast and the perfect way to spend the 4th.

 

 

The following night (yes – we really took advantage of July 4th being on a weekend and “partied” it up all 3 nights.) we went out to my parents again for the highly anticipated unveiling of the tree house.  My dad and Kobe spent the last couple months working on this and it turned out amazing – as everything that my dad builds does.  Kobe might just be the luckiest little guy around – and he couldn’t wait to show it off to everyone.  I think the treehouse may just deserve a post all of it’s own though… 

Boppa, Kobe, and the tree fort.

Boppa, Kobe, and the tree fort.

The night ended with a few more fireworks and of course – fruit pizza.DSC_6696

4th of July isn't official until there is fruit pizza.

4th of July isn't official until there is fruit pizza.

Leave a Reply

