Capturing real smiles, real moments, and real memories

Tips, Ideas, Goodies, Thoughts, Fun Stuff, ya’ know…

In addition to show casing our favorite photos from each shoot, and the occasional sneak peeks of my family, we are adding this new “category” to our blog. I tend to hear a lot of the same questions from friends, family and clients; “How should I display my photos,” “What should we wear for the photo shoot” (that one definitely wins #1 asked question!), “When’s the best time to shoot” etc… So! I am slowly but surely going to start sharing my answers to these questions with you!

The first one I want to start with is “how do I display my photos?” I DEFINITELY have this problem! I have about a bajillion pictures, I have canvas’, float wraps, light impressions, standouts, collages, etc… I also have color, black and white, antiqued, etc… I mean seriously – what’s a girl to do?  Well – I was lucky enough to call up my girl Jessica McKay, owner of Birdhouse Interiors and Birdhouse Collectible to have her come and help me style my house, and okay – if I’m being honest – she actually came and hung all my frames in my stairway for me. I know – I’m super lucky.  I have to say – first and foremost – she is the one to call if you want a little decorating help. She truly transformed my house and the way I feel about it – and even the way I look at decorating going forward. I finally realized that it’s OKAY to have my OWN style – my house doesn’t have to look like every other house in my neighborhood – who knew?! Anyways – I’m off track again – what was I talking about? This might be the problem with writing these posts in the middle of the night…

If you do decide that you are wanting to tackle this display task on your own – here are a few layout ideas I like, and a few sites you can check out for even more ideas…

http://paisleepress.com/2009/11/wall-art-diy-project-no-1/

Same idea – just with a few less photos:

This would be great with canvas wraps, float wraps, or standouts:

http://www.laurabrettphotography.com/blog/2011/01/dreaming-spring-atlantaalpharetta-family-child-photographer/

So – apparently I am really drawn to the square pictures, in a square layout…

http://tarawhitney.com/justbeblogged/2008/06/opam-may-08-photo-wall-in-living-room-after/

But not everything has to line up perfectly!! Notice how the spacing between the frames is the same? That is what makes it work. Make sure to check out the link below this image – she has tons of different layouts on her site – and tells you exactly what size you need! Yeah – it’s that easy!

http://www.jamie-sampson.com/Blog/?page_id=1490

This site has tons of different layouts as well. Keep in mind – we have our basic sizes listed on our website, but we can print in pretty much any size! The 10×20′s are one of my favorite sizes to use.

http://cherishportraits.com/display/

How pretty is this? Recognize it? Probably because you recently saw it in your Pottery Barn catalog. :)

This is probably one of my all time favorites – I love the mixing of art, with photos, with other little things like the keys… it’s perfect. If this overwhelms you – seriously – call Birdhouse – they will hook you up.

Okay – one more… and then you have to wait until next time. :) I love this look – and notice on this one how the frames are not spaced evenly? But it still looks like it flows together? All the frames are the same color and the images are all in black and white – so again – it works. It’s just about what style you like.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.